Ranking the Five Best FIFA Team of the Year Squads in History

EA Sports
1 of 5

EA Sports FC 24 Team of the Year is on the horizon and players can't wait for the most overpowered Ultimate Team cards to be released.

This year's iteration is first ever in the FC era and will feature a women's Team of the Year squad as well. Alongside Team of the Year Icons and TOTY Honorable Mentions, this will be the most stacked Team of the Year ever.

TOTY has long been a tradition in the FIFA/FC franchise dating back to FIFA 09. As Ultimate Team has progressively become more and more popular, TOTY has become the highlight of each game cycle. Players save packs days, weeks, sometimes even months in advance to try and pack those coveted items. Despite TOTY cards being the best in the game, some squads have been better than others when considering upgrades and player selection.

Here are the five best Team of the Year squads in FIFA/FC history ranked.

5. FIFA 21

EA Sports

FIFA 21 Team of the Year

  • GK - Manuel Neuer
  • LB - Alphonso Davies
  • CB - Virgil Van Dijk
  • CB - Sergio Ramos
  • RB - Trent Alexander-Arnold
  • CDM - Joshua Kimmich
  • CAM - Bruno Fernandes
  • CM - Kevin De Bruyne
  • ST - Kylian Mbappe
  • ST - Robert Lewandowski
  • ST - Cristiano Ronaldo
  • RW - Lionel Messi (12th Man)

FIFA 21's Team of the Year squad included three first-time recipients for Bayern Munich: Davies, Lewandowski and Kimmich. As well, Manchester United's Bruno Fernandes made it in marking the first time since FIFA 15 (Angel Di Maria) that an outfield United player made the squad. This was also most likely the last time Sergio Ramos made a TOTY squad.

Messi might've missed out on making the initial squad, though he was added as the special 12th man later on rounding out special TOTY items for Mbappe, Ronaldo and Messi.

FIFA 21 also included a secondary TOTY squad for Honorable Mentions. A much-needed addition to the promotion, and an upgrade on the Nominee cards that were released in FIFA 20.