Xbox One Launches In 26 New Countries This September


The Xbox One is currently available in 13 markets, but that will change over time. According to Microsoft’s own Xbox Wire, the Xbox One will launch in an additional 26 countries this September.

These are the officially confirmed second stage launch countries:

  • Argentina
  • Belgium
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • India
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Korea
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Russia
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • South Africa
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Turkey
  • UAE

10 months between Xbox One launches is a very long time. Not only that, but considering how Microsoft viewed a prospective Japan release last year suggests how they view the 25 other countries that will see a near-simultaneous release; as Tier-2 countries.

Since these territories will see the Xbox One for the first time in a wide scale, hopefully Microsoft has some magic up their sleeve to entice gamers in these regions to buy their console. Whether it be special bundles, lower prices or timing the release of Xbox One games and exclusives to create a second launch lineup remains to be seen. Japan will see the console become available right around Tokyo Game Show and may see some Japanese games announced, even if the event has become less of a hype machine as E3 and, to a lesser extent, gamescom, over the past few years.

The Xbox One launches in an additional 26 countries sometime this September.


Want to get the latest gaming news sent directly to your inbox daily? Sign up for our newsletter below to get daily updates send straight to your e-mail. Just select Gamesided from the “Other Site” dropdown Menu! Also, don’t forget to connect with us on Twitter @Gamesideddotcom.

Gamesided is looking for bloggers to join the team. If interested in this position, please contact Daniel George at